More than 150 world leaders gathered at United Nations Headquarters in New York to adopt an ambitious new sustainable development agenda at a 3-day summit that commenced Friday 25 September 2015.

Agreed by the 193 Member States of the UN, the new agenda, Transforming Our World: 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, consists of a Declaration, 17 Sustainable Development Goals, and 169 targets.

Here are the Goals:

  1. Goal 1. End poverty in all its forms everywhere
  2. Goal 2. End hunger, achieve food security and improve nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture
  3. Goal 3. Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages
  4. Goal 4. Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all
  5. Goal 5. Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls
  6. Goal 6. Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all
  7. Goal 7. Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy for all
  8. Goal 8. Promote sustained, inclusive, and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment, and decent work for all
  9. Goal 9: Industry, Innovation, and Infrastructure
  10. Goal 10. Reduce inequality within and among countries
  11. Goal 11. Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable
  12. Goal 12. Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns
  13. Goal 13. Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts*
  14. Goal 14: Life Below Water
  15. Goal 15: Life on Land
  16. Goal 16. Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all, and build effective, accountable, and inclusive institutions at all levels
  17. Goal 17. Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development

BIMatters develops actions in Goals 8,9,11,12,13,14,15,16,17